top of page

How Australia's Migration Landscape is Evolving: Key Updates in Visa Pathways and Regional Opportunities

Core Skills Occupation List: JSA Draft and Consultation


Jobs and Skills Australia (JSA) has recently initiated a consultation process regarding the development of a new Core Skills Occupation List (CSOL). This is simply making a new list of jobs for people.

This list is integral to Australia's migration strategy and will pave the way for three distinct visa pathways based on salary thresholds:


Specialist Skills Pathway: reserved for occupations with salaries exceeding $135,000.

Core Skills Pathway: Designed for occupations with salaries between $70,000 and $135,000.

Skills in Demand Pathway: Targeting occupations with salaries below $70,000


What is the focus of the consultation?


JSA's consultation focuses on the Core Skills Pathway, which covers jobs within a specific salary range. They're carefully looking at occupations classified under ANZSCO Skill Levels 1-3 to create an initial list that's diverse and includes important roles.


What makes this consultation unique?


 JSA is using updated data and benchmarks aligned with the 2022 ANZSCO version, not the older version from 2013. This choice lets them include new and emerging jobs, reflecting Australia's changing workforce needs. The consultation process involves surveys, submissions, meetings, and analysis. They're urging stakeholders to join in actively, with a submission deadline of May 10, 2024. This engagement is crucial because JSA will give extra weight to submissions backed by industry or labor market evidence.


On the JSA website, interested parties can access detailed information about the consultation, including

• Lists of occupations expected to be included or excluded from the Core Skills list.

• Guidelines for submitting evidence-backed recommendations.

• Timelines for the release of the final list and submission deadlines.



State and Territory Nominations for March 2024


The Department's website has recently updated its data on the nominations made by state and territory governments for visa subclasses 190 and 491 in March 2024.




Victoria’s Overseas Qualification Unit (OU) reopened 


The Overseas Qualification Unit of the Victorian Government, which offers free and confidential qualification assessment services to Victorians, is now accepting applications again. The OQU unit helps people in Victoria figure out how their qualifications from other countries match up with Australian standards. It’s a free and private service that recently reopened after a temporary closure, likely due to the large number of applications. 


This reopening means they're now ready to assist people again. Getting your qualifications assessed by them can make it easier to find jobs or pursue further education in Australia. It involves submitting your documents, having them reviewed, and then getting a report on how your qualifications compare. Overall, it's a helpful resource for anyone with overseas qualifications living in Victoria.

NSW Government - Changes to Skilled Work Regional Visa Subclass 491 - Pathway 1

Key changes:

  • The employment duration requirement was reduced from 12 months to 6 months for applicants living and working in a designated regional area of NSW.

  • Skilled workers who have continuously contributed to the regional economy and communities for six months are now eligible to apply for the visa under Pathway 1.

Remaining Criteria:

  • Employment with a single regional NSW-based employer from an established business premises. Role in the applicant's nominated or closely related occupation. Occupation must be deemed skilled by NSW.

  • Minimum salary of $70,000 (prorated if under 38 hours per week) from the qualifying employer in the nominated occupation.


The Orana Designated Area Migration Agreement (DAMA) variation has been approved by RDA ORANA, expanding its geographical boundaries to include 41 additional local government areas in inland NSW. 

This extension encompasses the RDA regions of Riverina, Murray, Southern Inland, and Central West, allowing for the development and growth of regional NSW. The Variation now covers 129 occupations, benefiting businesses across 53 local government areas with access to a wider pool of skilled workers.

22 views0 comments


bottom of page